Shorter All the Time

From Jared Wilson on Twitter: “For a very long time I’ve had a tape in my head that the enemy plays sometimes. It says “You’re only as good as what you haven’t done” . . .Since gospel wakefulness, when that old tape plays, I shut it down and play another that says “I am as good as what Christ has done.””

As someone who grew up religious, I tend to think of my goodness largely in terms of what I’ve avoided. There are errors on the other side, too, such as the legalism of saying “You’re only as good as what you do,” but typically, that isn’t the error I struggle with. My heart tends to default to justification by sin avoidance, so this quote was good news for me, especially as the list of stuff I haven’t done is getting shorter all the time.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a comment